Mid-September Already? Where is This Year Going?

flying-calendar-pages-resized-600It seems as if one day I was sporting my booty shorts, tank top and sandals and now today I feel as if I needed a full length coat on! WOW, this year truly is flying by! (BTW, just kidding about the booty shorts..lol).   Fall is actually my favorite season of all. I love the clean crisp air, pumpkin spice drinks, the colors of the trees and the clothes…there is nothing like a cute pair of boots and a nice jacket.

The last time I blogged it was about the passing of my mother 10 years ago and I thought this time I’d keep my post light and fun and just catch you up on whats been happening in my corner of the world.

IsaacSchool started up on August 25th and can you believe  that the 1st round of Parent Teacher Conferences is scheduled for next Friday?  I’m such a bad mom and have yet to take a picture of the boy teen all dressed in his uniform (ooops) but so far the year is starting off OK.  He is in the 10th grade and he was happy to see that he has Geometry I instead of Algebra II (Algebra almost did him in last year.) I am really in love with his school and was happy to see that they are adding more and more classes to their curriculum as the years go by.  His school is known for its Arts, Academics and Athletics and they are really heavy into the arts and this year he is in Ballet and African Drumming!!  He loves the African Drumming class and is ‘so-so’ with the Ballet ;-).

workoutI’ve been keeping up with my workouts and have managed to work out consistently for 44 days straight!  My time is limited on some days so when I know that it will be hard to fit in an actual workout, I do things like:  take the stairs instead of the elevator to my office (we are on the 10th floor), park farther away from the metro in the morning, and I’ve been known to just walk around the house – from room to room and up and down the steps to get in my steps for the day.  I’ve been mixing my workouts up with walks, runs, full body workouts and weight training.  I can already see the results and haven’t had to ask Anthony to open up a jar of spaghetti sauce lately.  I would like to make it straight to 100 days of exercising in a row but wont be disappointed if I take a day or two off.  It is really nice to see how much of a routine working out becomes when you do it regularly for a few weeks!  This Sunday I will be running the 5 Miler at the Navy-Air Force Half Marathon and Navy 5 Miler race here in DC.

Fun?… yep, I am having tons of that!  From having a grandson sleepover at the house and then taking them to Six Flags the next day, to picking up and driving off to Pennsylvania in order to party with friends to just this past weekend were we tested out Airbnb and hit NYC for 2.5 days and stayed right in Times Square.

NYC        6Flags        roadtrip                                                        

About Aurelia

My name is Aurelia (pronounced Ah-real-lee-ya) and I am a 40-something year old woman on a voyage to stay true to who I am. I’ve spent so many years being the person others wanted me to be and I slowly lost touch with myself. I’ve been through many ups and downs in life and in January of 2013, I began the process of filing for divorce after 17 years of marriage and literally started to rebuild my life from the ground up.
This entry was posted in Getting & Staying Fit, Life In General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mid-September Already? Where is This Year Going?

  1. HAHAHA on the booty shorts!! Although you could pull them off!!

  2. Tina says:

    How did you like Airbnb? Did you actually stay in someone’s house or in a hotel?

    • Aurelia says:

      Airbnb was amazing for us Tina! We stayed in someone’s 1 bedroom apartment just blocks from Times Square for a fraction of what it would cost at a hotel. We plan to use it more and more as we travel around.

  3. Pingback: The Hurrier I Go, The Behinder I Get | My Voyage To Me

Leave a Reply

